K

The temple’s purpose

A teaching space, a place of transmission

It will be a place of thought and of education for peace. Our traditions of meditation and self-contemplation will be kept alive, and in addition, meetings beyond the Buddhist community will be possible through the organization of seminars centered on philosophy and on science with Nobel Peace Prize recipients and scientists.

Starting in the 1960’s masters of Himalayan Buddhism came to the west, and notably to France to teach their spiritual tradition, which has been welcomed very enthusiastically by a great number of followers and sympathizers.

The Temple for Peace will continue to welcome these masters to the center in Aubry-le-Panthou as it has since its creation in 1982. Due to its traditional architecture it will be specially dedicated to the transmission of age-old wisdom.

As the situation is right now, the prayer room of the current temple in an 18th century building is too small to receive the growing number of followers and sympathizers, so the new Temple for Peace will offer a much more spacious framework so that we can benefit from these precious teachings.

A space for meditation practice

Understanding ethic rules, respect for others, and non-aggression are essential to Buddhist commitment, and they must be accompanied by meditation practice.

Himalayan Buddhism is made up of a number of very important meditation methods, prayers and rituals. This great variety, which is adapted to the diverse aptitudes and inclinations of men and women, must not hide its unique purpose: to free us of suffering and to bring us inner peace. Today many of us are disoriented by the materialistic race of this modern world and we are looking for this inner peace as well as a more serene way of living. These ancient meditative practices are passageways to help us discover the treasure lying within all of us. In fact the ancient texts say that each of us has Buddha’s nature within us, and by meditating we can discover the “heart of Buddha”: inner peace which combines wisdom and compassion.

As such, the Temple for Peace will be the place for us to apply these diverse meditative techniques that are designed to help inner peace bloom. According to the masters teaching us, sometimes simply just by their presence, this inner peace can be our most significant contribution to a better world.

Comments are closed

K

La vocation du temple

Un espace d’enseignement, un lieu de transmission

 

Il sera un lieu de réflexion, et d’éducation à la Paix. Il permettra de maintenir vivante notre tradition de la méditation et du recueillement, mais aussi de réaliser des rencontres au-delà de la communauté bouddhiste stricto sensu, en organisant des colloques autour de la philosophie et de la science avec des prix Nobel de la Paix et des scientifiques.

À partir des années soixante, les maîtres du bouddhisme himalayen sont venus en Occident, et notamment en France, pour y enseigner leur tradition spirituelle. Cette tradition a été accueillie avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme par un grand nombre de sympathisants et de fidèles.

Le Temple pour la Paix continuera d’accueillir ces maîtres que le centre d’Aubry-le-Panthou reçoit régulièrement depuis sa création, en 1982. Par son architecture traditionnelle, il sera spécialement dédié à la transmission d’une sagesse millénaire.

La salle de prière du temple actuel, située dans un bâtiment du XVIIIe siècle, ne permettant plus de recevoir convenablement un nombre grandissant de fidèles et de sympathisants, le Temple pour la Paix offrira à ce large auditoire un cadre plus spacieux pour bénéficier de ces très précieux enseignements.

 

Un espace de pratique de la méditation

 

La compréhension des règles éthiques, le respect d’autrui et la non-agression sont essentiels à un engagement bouddhiste. Ils doivent être aussi accompagnés d’une pratique de la méditation.

Le bouddhisme himalayen est constitué d’un nombre très important de méditations, de prières et de rituels. Cette grande variété, destinée à accommoder les aptitudes et les inclinaisons diverses des femmes et des hommes, ne doit pas cacher son but unique : nous libérer de la souffrance et nous mener vers la paix intérieure. Nombre d’entre nous aujourd’hui, désorientés par la course matérialiste du monde moderne, recherchent cette paix intérieure, ainsi qu’une manière de vivre plus sereine. Ces pratiques méditatives anciennes sont autant de passerelles nous amenant à découvrir le trésor qui sommeille en nous. En effet, il est dit dans les textes anciens que chacun de nous a en lui la nature de Bouddha, et que c’est en pratiquant la méditation que nous pouvons découvrir le «cœur de Bouddha» : la paix intérieure qui allie sagesse et compassion.

Le Temple pour la Paix sera ainsi un lieu d’application de ces pratiques méditatives diverses, destinées à faire éclore la paix intérieure, les maîtres nous enseignant, parfois par leur simple présence, que cette paix intérieure peut être notre contribution la plus significative à un monde meilleur.

Les commentaires sont clos.